Skip to content

Megatron, Prakashraj the great new movie villains

July 10, 2011

This weekend, I watched a lot of movies. Transformers : The Dark of the Moon, Horrible Bosses and வேங்கை. Let me start with Transformers. I have no complaints about watching this movie. I knew what to expect and what not to. I had seen the first one and not the second. I don’t think this would matter, as I don’t expect a high level plot development. I loved the special effects, explosions, car chases etc. Since Optimus Prime had already defeated Megatron once, they had to bring up someone new – Sentinel Prime, voiced by the legendary ‘Spock’ Leonard Nimoy (I have never seen Star Terk, so I only know of the legend). I still loved Peter Cullen’s voice for Optimus Prime better. One interesting/funny thing about this movie was, they had brought the human element into the machines a lot. The transformers behave a lot like humans, show emotions and everything. This leads to many LOL moments. When a few Decepticons get a hold of a bunch of Autobots, they make the Autobots kneel down with a ‘handgun’ to the head and make them put their hands behind the head. The Autobots have human-like facial features and are voiced by people from different cultures. There is also an Autobot with a bald head and hair(??!!) on the sides who looks very much like an east Asian. I don’t know why they did this, but it was un(?)intentionally funny. The one thing that pissed me off was the key role that Rosie Huntington-Whiteley played. This is one time where I felt the idea of songs like in our movies was better. The girl could dance in those songs and hardly be seen in the other scenes. A brilliant idea from Shia LaBeouf and thanks to her awesome negotiating skills, she single handedly confronts Megatron. He is fucking MEGATRON…He was the one that roared “I…AM…MEGATRON” in Hugo Weaving’s voice in the first movie. He falls for Rosie Huntington-Whiteley!
No wonder Decepticons needed a better leader. Towards the end, Decepticons were made to look like monsters from fantasy movies. The way to kill them, apparently is to make them blind and shoot their foot with some huge rockets. Awesome!! I had seen a video of shooting the scene where dudes in winged suits drop off sky-scrapers. That looked cool on screen.

The movie should have been shorter. I had to go to the loo. I waited till the end and ran off outside the theatre. I didn’t notice the loo within the threshold, where the guy checks for your tickets. So I had to pay for the next movie. Michael Bay, you owe me a movie ticket for making Transformers 3 so long. It was Horrible Bosses next. The movie was about a bunch of crazy events where three guys get into trouble and (SPOILER ALERT) end up being saved by the voice of an Indian with a pseudonym Gregory. The movie was good and I didn’t regret paying for the ticket.

Then, I watched வேங்கை. Prakashraj is proving to be a great entertainer these days – I said entertainer and not actor. The one thing he keeps doing whether he plays a villain or a guy in distress (like in வானம்) is he manages to give a look of shock where he has his eyes in such a manner that his eye-balls would fall off from his face anytime and stammer “ஏய்…யாய்…யாய்…” or give amazing dialogues like “பருப்புல பெரிசு முந்திரி…பதவில பெரிசு மந்திரி”. I watched the scene again to see if I missed some joke or he really was serious. Guess he was indeed serious. The only scene in the movie I liked was when Rajkiran walks into his house and ask his wife Urvasi “இங்க என்ன நடக்குது?” to which she says “நாய் நடக்குது…பூன நடக்குது…அந்த பாட்டி நடக்குது…”. I should have known when I saw a dog walk by. My friend rightly said they are not giving a chance for people from லொள்ளு சபா to attempt a parody on the movies these days with such amazing dialogues. So true.

Off to watch some லொள்ளு சபா.

PS
Image from someone else’s blog. Got only a preview from Google Images and could not link to the actual image. So I’ll just link to the blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

