Skip to content

Any time money…

April 23, 2009

After another of those extremely mundane days at office, I realize that I have only 50 Rs. with me. Some three years back that’s the most I would have had in my wallet any day, and now its ‘only 50 Rs.’ . I got down from the bus and went to an ATM on my way back home. There was a woman struggling with her card inside the booth. I was standing next in line and there was this man (who is the reason I’m writing this) in his 30’s standing behind me.

He saw the lady struggle with her card, slapped the door and kept asking her ‘How many times are you gonna put your card in and out…?’ .What was his problem, he didn’t seem to be in any emergency also. She turned back with a puzzled look, then took her money and came out. She asked him what was the problem when I went in and the their conversation was muffled with the door closing behind me. I didn’t hear what he told her…and she actually tried explaining this guy what her problem was. Oh this poor thing…! How I wished this guy would have picked at me. I would have slapped him (yeah he was shorter than me and wasn’t intimidating either) and asked him to go screw himself. Now…would I have said that…?? No. I would have said something on the lines of “nnngotthaa moodtu podaah(u) baadu…“.Awww…the pleasure you get when you swear in your mother-toungue (or atleast the words that supposedly belong to the mother-tongue)…

What did this guy think?? He is the only guy who’s got no time? I imagined what this guy would have done some ten years back when not every tom, dick and harry had an ATM card. He would have waited in a long queue at the bank where the cashier would take his/her own time to do whatever that was supposed to be their work. I still remember those days when going to an ATM was a big thing for me and my brother. Few banks had ATMs those days. My dad had an account in some international bank that had an awesome ATM. It had a door that actually worked the way the door of an ATM is supposed to work (it opened only if you inserted a valid card). It had an air-conditioner that seemed to be out of control…it would be freezing inside. No one usually came in when someone was using the ATM also.

I’m sure when you asked this guy what do the letters ATM stand for he would have said ‘any time mani saar…idhu theriyaadha…!’ . Of course there’s no big deal in not knowing ATM stands for ‘Automated Teller Machine’ just because I know that for some ten years.(Wow! what a show off am I…hehe). Unlike this guy I take pride in knowing that I am someone who knows I was not born with computers and electronic stuff. He wouldn’t even know basic stuff in gadgets and I’m sure he would struggle for even making a call from his mobile phone like my dad used to be, why…even like I used to be. I called the lady a poor thing for trying to explain this guy and now I have started trying to explain him…so I would stop here before someone calls me a ‘poor thing’ and wait for slapping this guy next time. But I don’t remember his face…hmmm…Now what do I do…??!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 2:46 pm

    Ha ydi
    great start man…
    it seems u struggled to give it a nice end.
    i like ur comment on scolding someone in our mother tongue..sometimes it gives a hearty satisfaction

Leave a Reply

